Official start for the Turkish Solar Plan

12.08.2011: As reported by the online edition of the Turkish newspaper Sabah on August 12, 2011, the Turkish government has published in the Official Journal the investment plan for solar energy plants. The Minister of Energy designated 27 provinces for development. Konya will have the highest power with 82 MW. Van, Karaman and Mersin will follow with 77 MW, 38 MW and 35 MW respectively. Building licenses will be released by the energy authority EPDK. Tenders will be conducted by the grid operator TEIAS. The plan aims to install about 600 MW of solar energy for a total investment of about €2 billion.